Sutorio De Maserejian-The End Of A Cobbler’s Legacy?

Sutorio de Maserejian-Ballet SlipperA while ago, I had discovered another pointe shoe brand based in Argentina. Because I post in random order, I took it for granted that the brand, its products and its website would still be up and running when I got around to writing about it.

The brand name of the company was called Sutorio De Maserejian. The word sutorio means belonging to or related to the art of making shoes. When I first discovered the brand, I had an interesting time learning about the company and its founder, Stephan Artin Maserejian.

Sadly, when I revisited the old company website, the domain was no longer viable. There were wonderful family photos and pictures of the workshop where the dance shoes were made by hand in Buenos Aires, Argentina.

After doing some online searching, I found the obituary of Stephan Maserejian. His legacy and life story are really inspiring. There is a memorial slide show that includes a photograph of a cobblers bench from his company workshop.

Leotard by Sutorio de MaserejianI have tried to contact his wife and son through their Facebook pages to find out what happened to the company brand name. I am hopeful that I will get a response although they don’t appear very active on the site.

Searching the company name brings up the old Argentina address and there are references online to a location in El Salvador, but it leads nowhere. I will have to put this brand under the mystery category.

Sutorio de Maserejian dance garments and shoes can still be found for sale on eBay-type sites in South America. Unless I can contact the Maserejian family and find out otherwise, this brand name may have sadly disappeared into the pages of pointe shoe history with the passing of its founder.

SUTORIO DE MASEREJIAN

5 responses to “Sutorio De Maserejian-The End Of A Cobbler’s Legacy?

  1. how very interesting – but sad that these individual makers are dissapearing – I hope that someone can come forward with more information

  2. Hola,yo trabajé para sutorio,conocí a su dueño x muy poquito, quedaron sus hijos a cargo ,Sergio y Ana María, a los pocos años fundieron. Y sutorio desapareció.

    Google Translate-Hello, I worked for a sutorio, I met its owner very little, his children were in charge, Sergio and Ana María, after a few years they merged. And his theory disappeared.

  3. Gracias Jesús. Era una marca fascinante.

    Thank you, Jesus. It was a fascinating brand.

  4. Hello, the owner of the company was my grand-dad. i can contact you with my mother that was owned of the company for a few years if you want more info or more memorabilia. e-mail me at ezequiel.rivero [ at ] gmail.com. cheers.

  5. Sutorio trained a lot of pointe shoe makers in Argentina. Here, i found this! https://balletindance.com/2016/05/10/calzado-para-danza/ it’s in spanish but I hope you can get it translated,

Leave a comment