Crait Pointe Shoes-Past Or Present?

Crait Pointe Shoes

Crait Pointe Shoes

The Crait pointe shoe brand leaves many more questions than answers (at least for me).

Going online to find some information about the Crait Company netted me a few tidbits of information.

I learned that the Crait brand name had its beginnings in France in the early part of the 1800’s. A French cobbler by the name of Crait took his pointe shoe manufacturing to Paris in the 1850’s. In the 1870’s Crait was the official pointe shoe supplier for the Paris Opera Ballet.

Crait Prestige

Crait Prestige

Further investigating on the internet showed a possibility that the Crait name brand was taken over by another great French Company, Repetto. That would make the Crait pointe shoe discontinued.

Crait Prestige

Crait Prestige

I was satisfied with that until I came across these Crait Prestige pointe shoes being sold on eBay France last week. My inquiring mind wants to know:

  • When did Repetto take over the Crait Company?
  • Why is there so little information about this historical dance wear company in the ballet world?
  • Could the Crait Prestige pointe shoes in this photo be decades old?
  • Is there a possibility that Repetto still makes the Crait model?

I find these pointe shoes to be so beautifully French and so totally mysterious! If any of you know something about the Crait pointe shoe brand, please feel free to comment. I would love to know more about them.

2 responses to “Crait Pointe Shoes-Past Or Present?

  1. Hi
    I have a pair of old Crait pointe shoes and I’d love to know more about them too.
    They don’t have a model name on them
    I don’t know how old they are but they are danced in
    Have you found any new info about the brand?
    Xx

  2. Hello Fabienne,
    This brand still leaves many questions unanswered. The only new information I have is finding this shoe listed as being made by a J. Crait of Paris. If I knew what the J stood for, I might have a better chance of finding something more.

    I still find many sellers of vintage Crait ballet shoes that are listed as “Repetto et Crait” when describing the maker. I also see leotards and other dancewear sold under the Crait brand name which is even more baffling.

    Repetto is a very difficult company to make contact with and is not forthcoming about letting the public know more about the brands they take over.

    It may be easier to research this in a library that has historical text about The Paris Opera Ballet and that may contain biographies of their commissioned shoe makers for the dancers of that era.

    Emailing to ask The Paris Opera Ballet for any history about J. Crait is a possibility I will consider. Getting responses from these companies is even more challenging than researching brands for this blog.

Leave a Reply

