Benefis-More Than Just Tutus

Benefis-Kiev pointe shoe K0001

K0001

The Benefis Dance Wear Company in Chisinau, Moldova is well-known for producing some of the most beautiful  classical tutu and ballet costumes in the world. The company has been producing dance wear since 1995 and is the only ballet costume manufacturer in the country of Moldova.

Moldova is located in Eastern Europe and is nestled between the countries of Ukraine and Romania. The Benefis website contains a surprise; pointe shoes.

I hadn’t visited the Benefis website in quite a while, so I was surprised to see pointe shoe models for sale.  I was fortunate enough to receive a quick response from Benefis about my inquiry of these shoes.

The Kiev Pointe Shoe Brand

The pointe shoes sold on the Benefis website are made in Kiev, Ukraine making them totally unique and a 100% Ukrainian pointe shoe brand. I was also fortunate enough to be contacted by an avid reader who has a pair of the Kiev pointe shoes in her collection. These are her personal photos of the Kiev pointe shoe. Thank you for sharing these great photos.

Kiev Pointe Shoes

Russian-Style Design

Kiev pointe shoe sole

Maker's Stamp

Kiev pointe shoes

Kiev Pointe Shoes

Kiev pointe shoes made in Ukraine

Made in the Ukraine

Kiev pointe shoe bottoms

Thick Leather Soles

Benefis only sells this model in two limited sizes. They don’t carry a large inventory of the Kiev model. The model, K0001, comes in a child’s size and an adult size. At the time of this post, Benefis had 3 pairs of these wonderful, Russian-style  pointe shoes in stock.

The discovery of a new pointe shoe brand makes all the research and hunting for information worthwhile. The Ukrainian-made K0001 is an intriguing pointe shoe model and adds  another country to the list of pointe shoe brands from all over the world.

5 responses to “Benefis-More Than Just Tutus

  1. Hi, perhaps you remember me. I’m the dancer who sent you the photos of the Benefis/Kiev pointes. I’m writing to say how sad and upset I was to find your beautiful site hacked late last year; and to tell you how very pleased I am to see that you have reconstructed it again. It is a jewel and you are to be congratulated! I just signed up for email notification of new entries to your blog and I look forward to reading about your further research. Best wishes for a Happy New Year!

    Jill

  2. Thank you so much, Jill🙂 I was devastated when the site was hacked…..I was lucky enough to salvage most of the photos and over half of the old posts. I will never understand why people do things like this. I thank you again for these wonderful pictures and all the best to you in the coming year🙂

  3. Hi, I was just wondering where I could buy Kiev pointes? I have looked on the benefis website but they don’t seem to be there…perhaps I got the wrong web address? I was on benefisshop.com?
    Thanks,
    Bela

  4. Hi Bella,
    The pointe shoes that are for sale on the Benefisshop.com website are the Kiev pointes. It seems that you can’t order them directly online, but have to contact Benefis through their company e-mail. If you click on “ballet shoes” on their side menu, it will take you to a small picture of the Kievs. I hope you can get a pair…Benefis doesn’t seem to carry more than a few odd pairs at a time. Good luck🙂

Leave a Reply

