Ballet Slipper Experiment

Every once in a while I get the urge to try something different with my pointe shoes or my slippers. My ballet slippers were very soiled inside on the sock liner and I was toying with the idea to rip out the liner then go to the fabric store and cut out new ones.

Today as I was loading my washing machine I just tossed my pink leather slippers in with the rest of the clothes. They came out really clean and looked okay. I put them on my kitchen window sill to dry in the sun. After drying for about 5 hours they began to get smaller and smaller looking. I put them on a few minutes ago and they are still damp inside the toes. The liner inside stayed the same but the leather shrunk a bit. Now the liner bunches up and feels uncomfortable.

I don’t know what I was thinking, but now I know what happens to ballet slippers that go through the wash . I am going to wear them again when they are totally dry and hopefully they should stretch out again.

I think these slippers will survive. The Capezio’s that I submerged in my bathroom sink did not………

Leave a Reply

